Current Status
Not Enrolled
Price
Closed
Get Started
Slide6_new

Welcome everyone to "Literature in 20th and 21st Century Mongolian History"!

Please take time to acquaint yourselves with the site. Right now we have the readings for each of our six weekly meetings, with a very brief preamble about what you'll be reading about. I hope to be adding thematic ideas which could perhaps guide your reading, and also discussion questions/topic via the Discussion page for each week.If you have any questions before our Friday 29th start, please don't hesitate to write to me at swickhamsmith@gmail.com.

 

This will be conducted according to the book club model, with me as the leader. I will give background to the writers and their work, but this is literature first and foremost, and so I for one am interested in hearing your experiences reading these stories. Those of us who have been to Mongolia can add that perspective too, of course. I hope that this will be an enjoyable, stimulating, and intellectually rewarding foray into one of the world's lesser-known literatures.

 

If you would like to receive university credit for this course please contact me, and we can work out a way by which you can do so.

 

I look forward to meeting you at the end of next week.

 

Best,

 

Simon Wickhamsmith

 

P.S.: The first live session of the course will be held on October 29, 8:30 am PDT | 11:30 am ET | 5:30 pm CEST | 11:30 pm ULAT.

Scroll to Top